Granada High School

Granada Matador Athletics Homepage


 

Fall Sports     
Cheerleading Taylor Edward TaylorMWest@yahoo.com 
Cheerleading -JV Lizzy Martinez lizzy_martinez101@yahoo.com 
Cheerleading-JV Taylor Edward  
Cross Country Jeremy Mattern jmattern@lvjusd.org
Cross Country Noel Mattern nmattern@lvjusd.org
Dance Cathy Tennyson ctennyson5@gmail.com
Dance - JV Sarah Rupley sarahrupley@gmail.com
Football - Varsity Tim Silva tsilva@lvjusd.k12.ca.us
Football -JV Marc Moses mmdetailing@yahoo.com
Football-Freshmen Tim Conrad tpcon14@yahoo.com
Golf (girls) Matt Robles mrobles@lvjusd.k12.ca.us
Tennis (girls) - Varsity Calvin Thompson thompsontennis925@gmail.com 
Tennis (girls) - JV    
Volleyball (girls)- Varsity Rich Cortez RichCortez@lvjusd.k12.ca.us
Volleyball (girls)- Assistant Doug Harwood djcharwood@hotmail.com
Volleyball (girls)- JV Kehau Stancil kehau.stancil@gmail.com
Volleyball (girls)- Freshmen Jeneatte Petrilli petrillij@yahoo.com
Water Polo (boys) John Newkirk matadorsaquatics@gmail.com
Water Polo (girls) - Varsity Tricia Vieira tvieira@lvjusd.k12.ca.us
Water Polo (girls) - JV Greta Kohlmoos gretski12@me.com
Winter Sports    
Basketball (boys) -Varsity Greg Gomes ggomes@lvjusd.k12.ca.us
Basketball (boys) - JV Quaran Johnson quaranj31@yahoo.com
Basketball (boys) - Freshman Darrin Anderson pastord@sunsetcc.org
Basketball (girls) - Varsity Kris Birco kris.birco@yahoo.com
Basketball (girls) JV Steve Martinez smartinez@tpgsales.com 
Soccer (boys) - Varsity Chris Salazar

cvsalazar164@gmail.com

Soccer (boys) - JV Trino Victoria  
Soccer (boys) - Freshman Richard Howard atireguy4u@aol.com
Soccer (girls) - Varsity    
Soccer (girls) - JV Amanda Cleveland acleveland@lvjusd.org
Soccer (girls) - Freshman Herve Mardirossian hray69@yahoo.com
Wrestling Sean Jackson seankljackson@gmail.com 
Wrestling Dan Musselman dmusselman@lvjusd.org 
Wrestling Spencer Phillips spencr157@gmail.com 
Spring Sports    
Baseball-Varsity Corrigan Willis cwillis@lvjusd.k12.ca.us
Baseball-JV Tim Conrad tpcon14@yahoo.com
Baseball-Freshman Kenon Willis kwillis@lvjusd.org
Diving Jeannette Thralls jmthralls@gmail.com
Golf (boys) Matt Robles mrobles@lvjusd.k12.ca.us
Lacrosse (boys)  Bob Goold bobgoold1@comcast.net 
Lacrosse (boys) - JV Nick Leeson nicholasjamesleeson@gmail.com
Lacrosse (girls) Stephanie Barron barron.stephanie@gmail.com
Softball - Varsity Johnny Heinz jmheinz@comcast.net
Softball - JV Kim Hood

k_hood@comcast.net

Swimming-Varsity Julian Avilla

javilla@lvjusd.org

Swimming  Sarah Salazar ssalazar@lvjusd.k12.ca.us
Swimming - JV John Newkirk matadorsaquatics@gmail.com
Tennis (boys) Brian VanLoon brian.vanloon@yahoo.com
Track and Field  Noel Mattern nmattern@lvjusd.org
Volleyball (boys)  Rich Cortez richcortez@lvjusd.k12.ca.us
Athletic Staff    
Athletic Director Clark Conover cconover@lvjusd.org
Asst. Athletic Director David Moore dmoore@lvjusd.k12.ca.us
Athletic Trainer    

FORMER LONG TIME COACH REMEMBERED

 

Julie Macias entered into heaven on July 26, 2017 at the young age of 74.  She was born on February 9, 1943 to Dorothy Ferreira and James MacGowan in Hayward, CA.

 

Julie graduated from Hayward High School.  Later she married Raymond Macias on March 4, 1963.  Ray left earth in 2001 to get things ready in heaven for Julie’s eventual arrival. 

 

They moved to Livermore in 1972 where Julie raised her family and invested herself into the community by way of youth sports -  Julie became a legendary coach, mentor, friend and mother during her time in Livermore.

 

Julie’s passion for sports and children showed up in many ways through her life. She played adult soccer on the Livermore Knights in the mid 70's, slow pitch softball on the Strawberry Shortcakes, and volleyball with friends from her street of Polaris Way.  Julie also shared her unique love and passion for sports through coaching.  Ray and Julie began coaching their sons Ray and Scott in the Hayward Little League and her daughter Stacey in youth soccer and again at the high school level in Livermore.  Julie was instrumental in the development of girls’ sports in the Tri-Valley and coached for the Livermore Youth Soccer League for close to 40 years.  Julie also coached her granddaughters in the same league along with many other mothers, daughters and granddaughters over the 4 decades.  Julie’s passion for sports for girls led her to start the girls’ soccer program Granada High School in the early 80's while she also coached softball there.

 

For Julie, coaching was not just about sports.  Most players over the four decades will say that Julie was larger than life and that the she was an amazing mother and life coach to them. While she loved the challenge and competitiveness of coaching, she equally loved molding players to be successful on and off the field.  She was someone you never forgot for all of the right reasons.  She simply made you or whatever you were dealing with better in every way.

 

The fact is, Coach Julie had a powerful voice that was always encouraging, constructive and could be heard anywhere on the field. Her soccer knowledge, energy, enthusiasm and love for the game brought out the best in her players.  More times than not, her teams were victorious. 

 

She leaves a legacy of unselfishly giving her time and devoting herself to her family and so many people.  She was always there for anyone who needed her and her home was always open to all. Julie was known to many as a great friend as well as a legendary coach and icon in the Livermore soccer community.

 

Julie will be missed by thousands of people on earth and welcomed by thousands in heaven. 

A celebration of life for Julie will be held at Granada High School’s stadium, 400 Wall Street in Livermore, California on August 26th at 5 PM.  

 

In lieu of flowers, the family asks that you make donations to the newly formed Coach Julie Macias "Strength Through Sports” Endowment to assist a player in their dream to play competitive soccer at any level.  To make a donation in honor of Julie, go to www.youcaring.com/CoachJulieMacias

FALL ATHLETIC REGISTRATION

REGISTER FOR FALL ATHLETICS AT http://www.granadahigh.com/athleticregistration